zeovit.com Aquariumspeciality  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 Austria Zeovit Reef 2.0
Last Post: Peter.
Posted On: Today
Replies: 124
Views: 30,682
0 Tank w.vreeswijk
Last Post: jacky
Posted On: Today
Replies: 377
Views: 78,949
0 80gallon Tank Build with Luke
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 22
Views: 21,899
0 AEFW Acro Strudelwrmer bek鄝pfen
Last Post: "Alex"
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 19
Views: 412
0 New Guy Here.
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: 10-18-2019
Replies: 18
Views: 521
0 Transferring corals to ULNS
Last Post: jacky
Posted On: 10-18-2019
Replies: 6
Views: 136
0 Monthly Operating Costs?
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: 10-18-2019
Replies: 12
Views: 215
0 GIVEAWAY: Bubble Magus Z Series Protein Skimmer
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: 10-16-2019
Replies: 0
Views: 83
0 GIVEAWAY: Target Feeding Corals with Two Little Fishies Julian's Thing
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: 10-16-2019
Replies: 2
Views: 173
0 New exclusiv importer for US - Bulk Reef Supply Inc
Last Post: Bugger
Posted On: 10-16-2019
Replies: 1
Views: 134
More...
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-03-2017, 01:33 PM
FraysReef FraysReef 目前離線
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default

Damn I thought mine had been bad :/ all I cld mention is scrub the rock get it all into the water column and hit that water change!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-03-2017, 10:43 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35,942
Default

If you have soaked the sand very well in RO water I would also expect the rocks are the problem. Should become better over the time so patience is necessary. At the moment I would not add fish or corals.

Make sure that your ZeoVit reactor has enough flow by measuring it also adjust your skimmer to skim more wet cleaning it daily to skim out as much as possible.

Lets see if the parameters change within the next couple of days.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-04-2017, 02:24 AM
mefisto mefisto 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands
Posts: 62
Default

100% waterchange will help you to get rid of the nitrate.
If it builds up to such a high level again you can be certain of leaking from rocks and sand.
And then patience is needed for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-05-2017, 08:06 AM
FraysReef FraysReef 目前離線
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default

I fear if you do a part water change your only reducing the NO3 by the % done, as above 100% only way to get it under control fully but I am certain your NO3 will start to rise again.
Personally I did this at 4weeks; 20% change, turned reactor on constant for 2 days+ change 50% zeolites, new carbon and dosed for 10 days as per new system guidelines.
My kessil lighting is set 10 hours, 70% intensity, mainly blue.

----------
Fraysreef
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-05-2017, 09:41 AM
PeterBedford PeterBedford 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 62
Default

I done 15% of water change and nitrate go down for now on from 90 to about 50. I clean a rocks last night and looks like algae not growing quickly now.
If I do even 80" of water cheange I need to start again.
I bought API test to cross checks with Salifert.
NO2 seems to go down slowly.
I will wait few days and if NO3 will go up again to crazy level I might change 20% - 30% of water.
I do not have any carbon in a tank yet. Maybe it might help a bit if I put it in?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-05-2017, 03:02 PM
FraysReef FraysReef 目前離線
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default

Excellent start sounds like you're doing more less what I did, I made effort of having carbon because I had fish in the system may not be so vital for you. When you have some time check literally everything running on the system; light timings, skimmer on wet, [it may only skim at night mine does] zeoreactor L/hr, pre filters are clean, no debris in the sump. I think I'm getting silicates from my old RO membrane something you may have overlooked aswel.

---------------
Fraysreef
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-06-2017, 04:02 AM
PeterBedford PeterBedford 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 62
Default

Fraysreef,
I still checking best positioning for powerheads as sometimes in one place it take sand out and I can see bottom glass. I got dual output so need to work this out for best position. I will clean a sump tonight as well as you sugesting.
I'm using Radion xr30 gen4 x2 on my tank. At 40% still bright enough. I do not plenning any SPS for a while,until system will be prepare for it so still will look for good schedule.
Skimmer working at night for me as well so difficult set it up yet.
Good things are:
Ammonia still 0
NO2 go down again to about 0.75 (salifert)
NO3 go down to 40!
PO4 still lowering 0.49 Hanna and cross check with Salifert 0.50
Algae seems to stop growing crazy. After cleaning a rocks (not 100%) didn't see re-growth.
I hope things going right directions.
Schame for me then I didn' bleach Pukani rocks out from a tank... this will help a lot, but can't do it now so need to wait longer.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:44 AM
FraysReef FraysReef 目前離線
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default

Excellent to see NO3 coming down finally, I have the same problem with my peninsula return blows end of the tank bare bottom haha.
I tell you skimmer issue driving me crazy as well only working at night, sounds like you're tank is stabilizing. Patience rule no.1 I have the same issue just with my sand and I think my RO water had silicates in it so I've renewed all the filters I never trust 0TDS haha

-----------
Fraysreef
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-08-2017, 03:50 PM
PeterBedford PeterBedford 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 62
Default

Little update about parameters...
Just see picture.
I think water change will turn everything on tracks. System might handle this later, but tbh NO3 was too high.



Only problem now is PO4. and I want to ask G. Alexander. I know then system is new, manual do not recomend using any PO4 absorbers, but WHY this can't be put termporary even for a week? If I'm right, it will take another 50 days to remove PO4 from a system just to stick to a manual. In Another thread, someone got 5months old system and PO start rising and he setting up a GFO temporary.
In my situation Water change made a big different as you can see on a pic. I clean most aglae and seems to be ok now, and thay are not growing rapidly, only on a glass. See another picture:



Thanks for your coments.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Test-results-8-nov-2017.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	20342   Click image for larger version

Name:	tank8nov2017.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	20343  
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-08-2017, 05:08 PM
FraysReef FraysReef 目前離線
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default

I know where you're coming form I have been tempted all this time to do so, in a ULNS you force the zeolites to compete for nutrients but in our case we have such a huge excess maybe its possible. I personally have never had success with rowaphos/GFO in any of my systems I being patient. This Friday I will do my weekly Water change I'm shooting for NO3<5 remember diatoms are natural in new tanks usually 3-4months.
I look forward to G.Alexander view but expect he will agree natural process do not force the competition.

----------
Fraysreef
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-08-2017, 05:17 PM
PeterBedford PeterBedford 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FraysReef View Post
I know where you're coming form I have been tempted all this time to do so, in a ULNS you force the zeolites to compete for nutrients but in our case we have such a huge excess maybe its possible. I personally have never had success with rowaphos/GFO in any of my systems I being patient. This Friday I will do my weekly Water change I'm shooting for NO3<5 remember diatoms are natural in new tanks usually 3-4months.
I look forward to G.Alexander view but expect he will agree natural process do not force the competition.

----------
Fraysreef
I still can use Bio-Mate and/or Coral Snow after I pass 4 weeks (in 2 days) - both products removing phosphate
Any way, I need phopshate at 0.03 to put any animals?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-08-2017, 05:23 PM
FraysReef FraysReef 目前離線
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default

I'm hitting Coral snow hard have been dosing 0.4ml daily for 5 days now this stuff is amazing! doesn't sort Diatoms/brown film at all but the water clarity is fabulous. My experience it helps reduce nutrients yeah.

----------
Fraysreef
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-09-2017, 02:23 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35,942
Default

If you do not keep delicate corals you can temporary use a PO4 absorber if you like to but I would recommend to start very slow. At the moment I would not add animals except herbivore like snails if you get algae issues.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-10-2017, 04:45 AM
PeterBedford PeterBedford 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Alexander View Post
If you do not keep delicate corals you can temporary use a PO4 absorber if you like to but I would recommend to start very slow. At the moment I would not add animals except herbivore like snails if you get algae issues.

G.Alexander
G. Alexander,
Thanks for reply. I'm not gonna put any delicate corals to a system for next 2 months or more.
My parameters improve:
Amonia: 0
NO2: 0,05 high range Salifert
NO3: stays on 20
PO4: Yesterday 0,45 by hanna

I use very little of Continuum Captiv Phos Fe ~8g for whole system. (should use 1/3 cupfil for 400L).

I introduce:
1 Turbo Snail
1 Cleaning Shrimp

I acclimate herbivore 4 hours before put them into display tank. I put them to a sump and used airlane with dropping water from a DT.

BTW. When I bought them I check PO4 in a bag water where shrimp were and PO4 was high level of 2...Mine below 0,5. Is it normal or bad?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-10-2017, 11:20 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35,942
Default

A PO4 level of 0.5 will usually not kill animals like shrimps so the dealer might have a higher PO4 level in his holding tanks already plus some PO4 can be produced while the transfer.

If possible please also check if you PO4 test kit as accurate just to rule out that there is any issue.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (0 members and 6 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com