zeovit.com Aquariumspeciality  

Go Back   zeovit.com > Equipment Forums > Reactors

Reactors This forum is for ZeovitReaktors/CaCO2 Reaktors etc.

Active Threads
0 About to start running the ZEOvit system
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 10
Views: 282
0 Thoughts on how to change over to zeovit ?
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 1
Views: 46
0 Zeo-Einsteiger hat Fragen
Last Post: "Alex"
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 68
Views: 41,973
0 The Island Reef
Last Post: "Alex"
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 192
Views: 45,984
0 AEFW Acro Strudelwrmer bek鄝pfen
Last Post: "Alex"
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 23
Views: 4,150
0 Resistant Fish Concentrate
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: 11-18-2019
Replies: 4
Views: 136
0 Dinoflagellates
Last Post: ohashimz
Posted On: 11-17-2019
Replies: 23
Views: 506
0 KH increase
Last Post: jacky
Posted On: 11-17-2019
Replies: 2
Views: 114
0 Corals not growing and proper way to raise nutrient levels
Last Post: jacky
Posted On: 11-17-2019
Replies: 11
Views: 233
0 Returning to reefing...
Last Post: Nuuze
Posted On: 11-17-2019
Replies: 5
Views: 528
More...
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-16-2019, 10:15 PM
Pnorris11 Pnorris11 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 42
Default

I don’t have a way to test the gph of my pump but visually mine does appear to flush at a lot more than 100gph (this probably wouldn’t move the stones at all) and it seems quite fast during the flush.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-16-2019, 10:25 PM
Rsafron Rsafron 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: St louis
Posts: 88
Default

The issue is this pump has low head pressure. Today I took out the 1/2 flow sensor and just measured flow by filling a 1 L container with a stop watch. Flow was higher so I guess the Neptune flow sensor created enough restriction to slow flow down. The issue I have is the amount of rock that the pump has to push through will be the same restriction. I wish there was a way to measure flow through the reactor itself. I switch back to my manual reactor that I can measure flow with and a stronger pump to see if I can get my nitrate reduces. On mine, I was not seeing much movement in the stones which is why I pulled the pump out to try and measure. When I pump the stones on the manual reactor you can see the water get all cloudy with silt, with the Zar the water always looks clear even with short washes.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-17-2019, 12:00 AM
Pnorris11 Pnorris11 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 42
Default

That makes sense. I have noticed the same lack of mulm when flushed compared to manual reactors also. Makes me wonder if its effective at cleaning the rocks.

Btw what is your PO4 with elevated nitrate? FWIW I noticed a nagging NO3 in my past zeovit tanks when PO4 was very low. I attributed this to there not being enough phosphate to also remove the nitrate since bacteria need both. At that time I switched to nopox for a period instead of zeostart since it doesnt have Nitrate and that fixed my issue. My whole problem started from using a PO4 absorber and that created an imbalance. May be totally different from your situation though.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-17-2019, 02:18 AM
Rsafron Rsafron 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: St louis
Posts: 88
Default

It has been stable at 0.02
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-17-2019, 07:24 PM
Huntindawg Huntindawg 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Indiana
Posts: 35
Default

So you are off the Skimz zar reactor now and saw nitrates reduce?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-17-2019, 08:51 PM
Rsafron Rsafron 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: St louis
Posts: 88
Default

I did switch back to my previous reactor 2 days ago. No changes so far
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-04-2019, 12:11 AM
LittleJack's Avatar
LittleJack LittleJack 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 22
Default

I love this reactor. Its quiet, good flow, keeps the water level stable in my sump, cleans the rocks automatically. You can actually observe the flow in the reactor when changing speed. Love it. Is losing could see how the Mulm gets moved out of the zeovit media. Amazing


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-06-2019, 01:50 AM
beau beau 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Florida
Posts: 2
Default

Anyone else having success with these reactors? I’m about to set one up in a new build and curious of the settings I should use.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 9 (0 members and 9 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com