zeovit.com Premium Aquatics  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 Aquatic Life RO/DI SALE + MJ1200's for less then $20
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Today
Replies: 0
Views: 2
0 Tank w.vreeswijk
Last Post: W.vreeswijk
Posted On: Today
Replies: 362
Views: 56,642
4 Phosphate o
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 12
Views: 332
0 New to Zeovit - help with getting started.
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 11
Views: 649
0 Sale & Clearance- Vertex Somatic Package & More!
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 0
Views: 49
0 Cyno bacteria started
Last Post: Russreef
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 18
Views: 380
0 A BALANCE
Last Post: shauli
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 3
Views: 145
0 new to zeovit
Last Post: jacky
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 288
Views: 27,853
0 80gallon Tank Build with Luke
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: 08-20-2019
Replies: 14
Views: 2,068
0 Mein Kleines Wohnzimmerriff
Last Post: ArturW33
Posted On: 08-20-2019
Replies: 53
Views: 3,415
More...
  #1  
Old 06-10-2019, 05:31 PM
Huntindawg Huntindawg 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Indiana
Posts: 33
Default New tank- is sand bed necessary

Jacky or G. Alexander:

I am getting ready to set up a new 750L tank and starting it out with Zeovit. One question- is a sand bed necessary as I would prefer to have bare bottom on this one for cleaning and high flow.

I already have another thread with my 525L going so I have all the info on starting the tank from new.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2019, 05:32 PM
lareefguy lareefguy 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: los angeles
Posts: 8
Default

Its deff not absolute needed. Ive done both and came back to sand cause I like the look better. But you can have a wonderful reef with a bb tank


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2019, 05:35 PM
ZeoSteve ZeoSteve 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 14
Default

I think it can be done, I heard you might get crazy bacterial blooms (cyano, Dino etc) in the first six months but once it settles it can actually be more stable than a system with sand.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2019, 06:43 PM
jacky jacky 目前離線
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Asia
Posts: 1,986
Default

Any way depends on personal preference, the original I am also BB way, the current I use dry sand, about 2~3cm, which is very good, like a load, more stable, biology, buffer

If you ask me my choice, my choice is to use sand 2~3cm, which is very good.

Originally, I used the BB method, which is the same as you hope, high flow and clean.

Now my feeling is that using sand, cleaning, high flow, and including them, this will be great
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2019, 04:28 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35,843
Default

A shallow sand bed does stabilize the biology of a system massive, my recommendation is to go with a shallow sand bed but basically a system without sand does work also.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2019, 06:52 AM
Huntindawg Huntindawg 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Indiana
Posts: 33
Default

Thank you all for your responses.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com