zeovit.com Aquariumspeciality  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 Alkalinity
Last Post: jacky
Posted On: Today
Replies: 36
Views: 1,292
0 T5 Supplement Radion - Bulb choice
Last Post: ericsalt
Posted On: Today
Replies: 2
Views: 622
0 What size reactor?
Last Post: Chad_P
Posted On: Today
Replies: 2
Views: 60
0 Vibe questions
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 25
Views: 1,673
0 How to reduce Nitrates
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: 08-17-2018
Replies: 11
Views: 396
0 New Public Grade Aquarium-
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: 08-17-2018
Replies: 10
Views: 328
0 Switching to zeovit !!HELP
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: 08-17-2018
Replies: 2
Views: 136
0 IM Lagoon 25 gallons - Is Zeovit right for me?
Last Post: chaturai
Posted On: 08-17-2018
Replies: 4
Views: 511
0 switching to zeo system possibly
Last Post: JMac
Posted On: 08-16-2018
Replies: 229
Views: 14,197
More...
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 04-23-2018, 02:11 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34,867
Default

ZeoStart is dosed daily all the time (2 split to times if possible) and ZeoBac 2 – 3 x weekly except after a ZeoVit exchange daily for 10 days.

Usually ZeoVit systems run within a range of 0.00 – 0.03 mg PO4 while NO3 is mostly not detectable.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-24-2018, 10:20 PM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default Phosphates

Just received my Hanna checker and it registers .5!
How can I reduce my number?
Seachem test still shows .1

I stopped feeding corals on Friday.

Last edited by Kproescher; 04-24-2018 at 10:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-25-2018, 01:59 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34,867
Default

You might repeat the test to make sure the reading is correct. Basically there is not much you can do at the moment as you recently started ZeoVit and it will take some time before the nutrient reduction works consistent.

Can you post a full tank picture and a picture of your sump in the meantime ?

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-25-2018, 06:27 AM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default My tank

Here they are
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0007.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	21087  
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-25-2018, 06:28 AM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default

Display image will not upload I'll try it again later.
Thank you

Last edited by Kproescher; 04-25-2018 at 06:35 AM. Reason: No image
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-25-2018, 07:54 AM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default Display 2nd try

Display
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0008.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	21088  
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-25-2018, 08:07 AM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default

Also the Hanna checker measured .3 early before the lights and feeding.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-25-2018, 10:36 PM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default Right side up

Hopefully
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0010.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	21092  
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-26-2018, 02:27 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34,867
Default

I can not see it clear in the picture but does the sump contain any DSB or sand ?

Where you able to get a reactor flow of ~ 160 US gallons per hour ?

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-26-2018, 07:12 AM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default Sump

Yes it has maybe 1/2 inch sand bed.
I'll double check my flow.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-26-2018, 07:43 AM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default Flow

Flow had slowed to 120 gph. It's wide open now and measured at 157.4
The reactor has filled up to the top, is that ok?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-26-2018, 11:36 PM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default Flow again

Can't leave the flow wide open as it leaks out of the top of the reactor. I backed it down a bit, just enough to stop the overflow. I'm not sure how to flow any higher also what are your thoughts on the Red Sea sump 'sponge'/ keep it? Take it out?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-26-2018, 11:45 PM
Kproescher Kproescher 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 65
Default Fuge and reactor

Pics
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0011.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	21105   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0012.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	21106  
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-27-2018, 02:08 AM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 441
Default

If you are going with zeovit I would remove the mud and any algae from the sump for 2 reasons
1- zeovit will not sustain algae so it will die off
2- you do not want contaminants and mud to go inside the reactor and change your flow rate.
The reactor flow rate is really important in the nutrient control you need to find a way to control and know your reactor flow rate to run your optimum rate.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-27-2018, 02:35 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34,867
Default

I have personally run my reactors without the top cover. It is not a problem if the water does overflow, having the right flow is much more important.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com