zeovit.com Prolineaquatics  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 NEW Giveaway: AquaPulse Powerheads For Your Reef Tank
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Today
Replies: 0
Views: 13
0 Reef Hommi
Last Post: Hommi
Posted On: Today
Replies: 135
Views: 10,078
0 How to swich to ZeoVit
Last Post: marcin_c
Posted On: Today
Replies: 23
Views: 524
0 Tunze Door Buster Specials Ends 11/18!
Last Post: Bugger
Posted On: Today
Replies: 4
Views: 76
0 who uses coral booster and FWS?
Last Post: illumnae
Posted On: Today
Replies: 3
Views: 554
0 15% OFF TLF, Eshopps, Halo LEDS, RO, & Flipper
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Today
Replies: 0
Views: 21
0 This is really lovely
Last Post: HelenMancuso
Posted On: Today
Replies: 3
Views: 932
0 Low nitrates low Po4
Last Post: tnick
Posted On: Today
Replies: 4
Views: 105
0 B-Balance dosage to raise per mg/l
Last Post: 2una
Posted On: Today
Replies: 4
Views: 61
0 What to do by high barium
Last Post: W.vreeswijk
Posted On: Today
Replies: 24
Views: 1,117
More...
  #1  
Old 05-18-2017, 08:14 AM
Robertsk Robertsk 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
Default 160g build questions

Hi everyone, i am upgrading from a 70g to a 160g tank, and want to run zeovit on it.
Had a few questions for the setup which i am planning.

First is about rock, i dont want live rock, instead i am planning to use 60kg of Caribsea Life rock would it be sufficient to start the system?

Second, the sand, want to keep sand dwelling creatures like goby and wrasses, is it ok that i will use red sea dry aragonite 0.5-1.5mm of 5cm depth?

Other equipment:
nyos skimmer
vortech mp40s
avast reactor
radion g4 lights with two t5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2017, 10:36 PM
AquaTechGeek AquaTechGeek 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Evansville IN
Posts: 96
Default

When I started my first zeovit tank with dry rock i noticed things progress at a much slower pace. If you are wanting to use dry rock be ready to be patient.

Also as far as sand size goes I like gobies and wrasse as well so the large 5mm aragonite wasn't ideal for me either. From personal experience i would stay away from anything less than 2mm though. I find that 2.5-2.7 mm has worked well for me. I still get good water flow through my 1 inch sand bed to help bacteria growth without algae issues but by gobies and wrasse are still very happy with this size and are constantly digging in it and eating from it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2017, 12:58 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,819
Default

Hello Robert, as ATG said not using liv rock does basically work however it will take much longer unit the system is cycled so patience is necessary.

If you start the system from the scratch keeping the old system running until you move the animals this is the way I recommend to cycle it:

http://www.zeovit.com/forums/showpos...60&postcount=7

Having the sand bed to deep might can cause nutrient problems in the past however 5 cm should be OK. Usually a grain size of 2 – 4 mm works very well.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2017, 08:06 AM
Robertsk Robertsk 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the anawers.

So i will go with live rock.

The sand ok i will do a ~5cm with sand from 2-3mm any suggestions on where to get aragonite sand of 2-3mm of grain size?

Found a option - grotech sand 2-3mm which is close to aragonite?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2017, 12:32 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,819
Default

Whatever material you use make sure to soak in RO water as long as it does not leach PO4 anymore.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2017, 03:00 AM
Robertsk Robertsk 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the response.
So ended up getting 60kg of sulawesi live rock and going to do 3-4cm sand bed using kz aragonite sand.

So my next question is about lights:
radeons? Or giesemann spectra?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2017, 08:50 AM
Robertsk Robertsk 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
Default

So reading a lot i decided i will go with ATI sunpower 8x80 that should be sufficient.

So on to my next question about ca,mg,kh
Can i dose faunamarin ca,mg,kh without adding the balling trace elements on zeovit system?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2017, 10:55 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,819
Default

Usually using those supplements should work if they do not contain trace elements or if they are not pure enough.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com